Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: temporary VT?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    234

    Question temporary VT?

    how is it possible to create a temporary virtual table (so that it is not included in the open database similar to the
    Code:
    create temporary table
    command )?

  2. #2
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    6,719
    Blog Entries
    17
    Try prefixing the name with an _ which should prevent it being added to the database.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    234
    the VT definition tables: _ <vt_name> .dbf and _ <vt_name> .dbd (unfortunately) are placed in the /data:/<database>/ folder.
    It is true that the Data workspace does not show this VT. This table does not appear in the Data workspace after Database -> Rebuild, but is opened by the use _<vtname> command (not per user).

  4. #4
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    6,719
    Blog Entries
    17
    Have you tried creating the VT in the console with no database open.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    234
    from consol, but with an open database (of course).
    I can't find a command like the one in VFP: Set database to.
    In addition, only one database can be open at a time, but closing it will also close the tables.
    (Create table FREE still exists in VFP, I can't find one either)

  6. #6
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    6,719
    Blog Entries
    17
    Push datasession
    create
    pop datasession
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    234
    this works (almost fine) .dbd file is created in the <database> directory, the .dbf file is created in the <%%home%%> directory

  8. #8
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    6,719
    Blog Entries
    17
    Look at this doc.
    https://www.lianja.com/doc/index.php/DATADIR()

    Lianja apps have a datadir where the databases reside.

    Save jt
    change it
    do what you want to do
    restore it
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    234
    it is not a winning solution either, it causes a lot of confusion. If I change the original datadir (to <new_path>, the _VT.dbf table will be created in still the original datadir (C:\lianja\data), but there is no _vt.dbd table anywhere
    after creating the (temporary) _VT, and restoring the original datadir, (c:\lianja\data \ the VT cannot be opened
    for use (<new_path>\_VT): File '_vt.dbf' does not exist
    for use (_VT): [MySQL] [ODBC 8.0 (w) Driver] [mysqld-5.5.5-10.3.31-MariaDB-0 + deb10u1] Table '<remote table>' doesn't exist

  10. #10
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    6,719
    Blog Entries
    17
    What is it you want to achieve? Once I can understand that I can better advise.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us