Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Basic Remote MS-SQL to Local Lianja SQL

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    44

    Basic Remote MS-SQL to Local Lianja SQL

    Hi
    I want to import my data from a remote MS-SQL Database to a local Lianja SQL

    Created a new DATABASE
    Import from ODBC
    All files imported into the Lianja DATABASE OK

    How do I get this DATA into the LOCAL Lianja SQL
    If indeed I need to ?

    I have not created any APPs yet
    Does this happen when I deploy an App?

    I want to build parameterized views connecting to the LOCAL Lianja SQL

    Charlie

  2. #2
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Croatia, Zagreb
    Posts
    1,121
    If you open your database with imported tables in Console, and DISPLAY DATABASE, what you see?

    Code:
    open database mynewdatabase
    display database
    Is the number of records in the tables correct?
    All your tables (DBFs) from there must be found in the folder C:\lianja\data\mynewdatabase
    What else do you expect ?
    Last edited by josipradnik; 2021-05-06 at 07:45.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    44
    Yes, I can see DBF files in that folder and the display database shows everything as I expect
    But that wasn't my question

    How do I get this DATA into the LOCAL Lianja SQL
    -- Just a bit new to this --
    I wanted to use the Lianja SQL rather than DBF files
    Last edited by CharlieDenver; 2021-05-06 at 08:06. Reason: More Clarity

  4. #4
    Lianja Team yvonne.milne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,664
    Hi Charlie,

    If you deploy the database, it will be available to deployed desktop Apps, the Lianja SQL Server and the Lianja Cloud Server on your local machine.

    In the Deploy workspace, check the box next to the database, then use the 'Commit changes' toolbutton.

    Regards,

    Yvonne

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    44
    Hi Yvonne
    I thought that, but I can't see the database listed in the Deploy area
    Charlie
    Attached Images Attached Images   

  6. #6
    Lianja Team yvonne.milne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,664
    Hi Charlie,

    If it is a database created within that session, exit the App Builder and restart it.

    If not, can I see the output from these 2 commands issued in the Console command window:

    Code:
    ? datadir()
    list databases
    Regards,

    Yvonne

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    44
    Yes, a restart did the trick
    Thanks Yvonne

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    44
    Right, so in fact all I work with is the DATABASES inside of the App Builder, modify my tables, create my virtual tables , views, procedures etc
    Then, when I deploy, it deploys all that and the data to SQL (I was thinking the SQL Data was managed separately somehow like with another tool similar to SQL Server Management)
    So, thats actually very cool indeed - if what I've said is actually accurate?
    Thank you

  9. #9
    Lianja Team yvonne.milne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berkshire, UK
    Posts
    1,664
    Hi Charlie,

    Yes, that's right.

    Also note that the Lianja Cloud Admin Console can be used with the Lianja Cloud Server to administer users, databases, packages, reports and forensics in the cloud.

    Regards,

    Yvonne

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us