Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: App Builder IDE

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bergkamen, Germany
    Posts
    37

    App Builder IDE

    Hello!

    I have a few questions about the App Builder IDE. So NOT for apps that will be created with it, but directly to the work environment:

    - Is there a status bar somewhere, similar to Foxpro?
    - Is there a kind of progress bar that shows when I am performing table operations (e.g. indexing) in the console or in a script?
    I am currently indexing a field, a very simple index on a table with 3.5 million records from a script. I have issued a WAIT WINDOW. But I don't see how far "he" is. My screen has been standing for
    more than 30 minutes now and I don't know if it's stuck somewhere, if things are going well or whatever is going on ...
    Thanks
    Stefan

  2. #2
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Croatia, Zagreb
    Posts
    1,121
    I am not sure but try IOSTATS: https://www.lianja.com/doc/index.php/IOSTATS()

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bergkamen, Germany
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by josipradnik View Post
    I am not sure but try IOSTATS: https://www.lianja.com/doc/index.php/IOSTATS()
    Is at least interesting to research how long something takes to adapt the code accordingly. But it only provides information after something has been completed, for example after the index has been created, not while it is being created.
    Thanks
    Stefan

  4. #4
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    6,246
    No, as with most database systems there is no feedback on the screen until the indexing completes.

    You do not say how big the field is or how large the records are.

    We have customers with much larger tables than that so it is not uncommon.

    If you are indexing a huge table you should SET ICACHE accordingly. You can search for icache here in the forums.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bergkamen, Germany
    Posts
    37
    That sounds good, I'll start reading ...

    Regarding the question of size etc .:
    3.5 million records
    1 record has 27 fields and is 337 bytes long.
    The field to be indexed is Char (50)
    Thanks
    Stefan

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Bergkamen, Germany
    Posts
    37
    WOW! What a result:
    With the above information on the table and the index ...

    Without SET ICACHE: Well over 30 minutes

    With
    Code:
    nsize = icache(process_id)
    set icache to nsize
    only 5 (five) minutes.

    That I call real performance!

    Thank you very much, barrymavin!
    Last edited by zehnernet; 2020-12-04 at 05:14.
    Thanks
    Stefan

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    95
    Something tells me I need to bookmark that result
    Thanks for sharing Stefan

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us