Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 37

Thread: Automatic language translation

  1. #1
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,967

    Automatic language translation

    In the final release of 5.5 which will be the next release due in the next few weeks I have built in language translation.

    This allows you to build an App in any language and the user can select their preferred language.

    There are three new App attributes that enable this functionality.

    "enable user translation"

    displays a language flag in the page header. click it drops down a language selector panel.

    "Enable text translator"

    Use the text translator to perform the translation. argument 2 is the language code e.g. fr, de, es etc

    "Enable google translate"

    Uses google translate API to translate captions, menus, navigation menu, pages menu etc

    See below.

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-10-27 at 8.48.15 PM.jpg
Views: 98
Size:  86.9 KB

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-10-27 at 8.48.36 PM.jpg
Views: 98
Size:  88.6 KB

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-10-27 at 8.48.52 PM.jpg
Views: 96
Size:  85.8 KB

    See attached video.

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/1npb...hu_5VAeSj/view

    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  2. #2
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berea, KY, USA
    Posts
    2,010
    Fantastic!

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    3
    This is really great!

    Would it be too much trouble to include filter expressions like Starts with, Contains, Is greater than?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    125
    superlative thanks Barry!

  5. #5
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,967
    Yes i'm still working on it. Those will be included as are all tooltips and grid buttons.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    516
    Hi Barry,

    Amazing

    If one uses the google api to translate will the results be stored in translation tables for next time so that if the users is offline it will work?

    Also some text does not always translate well, so the admin or developer could correct them in the table.

    David

  7. #7
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,967
    No they are stored in the client. Nothing to do with the server.

    Being "offline" is another thing altogether. That is in the roadmap and is to do with PWA. In this next release content can be offline as its being cached in local storage.

    Translation is affected by the location of the user but they can choose their preferred language which overides that.

    You don't use any google API its all done for you. Built-in. Theres really nothing to do other than check off a few App attributes.

    I'm seeing good results with translation as these are predominantly captions, messages etc. Try it when its available you will see.

    If you don't want to use automatic translation you can provide your own custom text translator. Of course you can write everything yourself and take forever or use what is built-in. I think the latter is cheaper in terms of your time.
    Last edited by barrymavin; 2020-10-28 at 06:20.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    516
    Hi Barry,

    What I mean about the Google API was that in your post you said "Uses google translate API to translate captions, menus, navigation menu, pages menu etc
    "

    I realise this is much easier than a home grown version one might have to put together, but there are many situations where the user is in a desktop app and no connection to the internet for security or remote site location reasons so pulling it from a table as an option would have been nice.

    My current VFP app is multi lingual and the entries are stored in a table. As you say simple captions etc translate fine, but I have found that longer messages do not always come pout right.

  9. #9
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,967
    David, this is for web/mobile apps where the app is being delivered and working in the cloud. Using cloud apps without the internet is somewhat pointless. Just as using a Browser on your desktop is with no internet connection.

    if you don’t want to use it uncheck the app attributes or use a custom text translator as I’ve already mentioned. I’m not forcing you to use it.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    516
    Hi Barry,

    Thanks that makes sense now.

    I had, wrongly, assumed that this was for all Lianja app development including desktop.

    David

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us