Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: Automatic language translation

  1. #31
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,972
    Hi Hank

    Its all done by the locale language of the client.

    If that needs changed for a user it’s done by the user by clicking the language selection flag. That selection is remembered.

    EDITED

    After thinking more about your question I think what you are asking is how to tie a prefeered language based on the user who logs in from wherever. That a good question!

    The solution to that would be to inspect the username() in the app ready delegate then:

    - lookup the preferred language on the server using LIanja.evaluate() with a keylookup()
    - on the client issue Lianja.switchLanguage( the_preferred_language_code )

    See
    https://cloud.google.com/translate/docs/languages

    for language codes supported.
    Last edited by barrymavin; 2020-10-31 at 02:18.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  2. #32
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    516
    Hi Barry,

    I took Hanks question to mean that say both users were using the same language, say English, but one wanted to name say a caption on a text entry box as "Store" and the other customer would like it named "Kiosk".

    As it's system wide is there an ability to have that for individual users or is all the English setting the same for all users.


    David

  3. #33
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,972
    Hi David

    As I explained it can be done as I described.

    Thats more an Application design issue than a language translation issue.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  4. #34
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berea, KY, USA
    Posts
    2,011
    Hi Barry,

    Imagine for a given textfield I have a caption that says Facility.

    Customer A says I want to call that Store, not Facility.

    Customer B says I want to call that Kiosk.

    Let's further specify that the locale is English US.

    If there were only one customer, I would put an entry for English US to be what they wanted. I am imagining that would work given what you have described (and I will test that out when I have a chance over the next couple of days).

    However, with multiple customers, I would want to create that .rsp language translation loader in each Application directory. However, unless the backend system table stores the tenant, this usage wouldn't work. If it did store tenancy and Lianja looked in the application directory, this would be something that customers have wanted for some time. I know one developer who created this in VFP and it's been a big selling point for them.

    Looking at it as a psychologist, any time you can reduce the friction in the interface between the user and the software, everyone is happier. Most of our users use our software as a small part of their jobs, so any friction at the interface results ini confusion and that results in support cases.

    thanks,

    Hank

  5. #35
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,972
    You can change captions programmatically as you know or as macros.

    This is language translation. Thats all.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  6. #36
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berea, KY, USA
    Posts
    2,011
    I see language translation in the Lianja implementation as a "caption substitution" engine tied to ISO language locale. My suggestion was to add the dimension of App tenancy in order to get more bang for the buck. And yes, it's possible to use expression for captions, but how that would interact with language translation would be "interesting."

  7. #37
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,972
    Language translation is now performed on the titles and buttons in Lianja.showDialogPanel() and Lianja.showDialog().

    Name:  Screen Shot 2020-11-08 at 1.01.45 PM.jpg
Views: 21
Size:  89.9 KB
    Last edited by barrymavin; 2020-11-08 at 01:41.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us