Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Using the Command Window CLI

  1. #1
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,769

    Using the Command Window CLI

    If you are a keyboard warrior you can bypass the need to use the GUI to perform a lot of common operations.
    https://www.lianja.com/doc/index.php...and_Window_CLI
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,210
    Hi Barry,

    I love the command window and use it all the time.
    I think I have generated most of my scripts with
    Modi comm <myfilename>
    is Ed the equivalent?

    also - when I need to clean up files on my machine, I just open the lianja command window, issue a 'cd' to the directory I want and run the scripts there. It is so darn convenient.

    Ever thought of have a stand-alone command window "hint hint"

    Herb

  3. #3
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,769
    Hi Herb,

    Yes “ed” is just a synonym for “modify command”.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  4. #4
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berea, KY, USA
    Posts
    1,942
    Ever thought of have a stand-alone command window "hint hint"
    Hi Herb,

    Your wish has already been fulfilled.

    Name:  CMDCLI10-30-2019 2-51-11 PM.jpg
Views: 81
Size:  48.4 KB

    Hank

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,210
    Hi Hank,

    I have been traveling a lot lately, so just catching up on older posts.

    I meant from a command line without starting the Lianja Application. Something like the python command-line interpreter.

    It's something I would love, but probably not worth diverting Barry's attention

    Herb

  6. #6
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berea, KY, USA
    Posts
    1,942
    Hi Herb,

    I created a desktop Command app (named: El Commando) to distribute with the one desktop production app we have. I haven't improved it much, so it's one line at a time, with | dividers so multiple commands can be entered on one line.

    Code:
    use myDatabase!myTable excl | pack | use
    is a frequent action. If there's an error the user is notified and the sequence of commands is exited.

    The same could be done with a Web app, for that matter.

    Other than that scenario, I don't see an advantage of a Python-type CLI. Of course I work with 3 monitors, but doesn't everybody?


    Hank

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,210
    Hi Hank,

    I do a ton of file manipulations - which is atypical for most database applications.
    Sometimes I need to rename thousands of files, create directories, re-order files. move some based on names etc.
    LIanja has made this very easy, but there are times I don't need to be inside my lianja application.

    Not something that is super important, its just that Barry has spoiled me with so many goodies over the years...


    Herb

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us