Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: GPS Location

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    351

    GPS Location

    Hi all

    I am working on a desktop app

    Is it possible to capture the GPS location of PC that has my desktop app installed?

    Your advice is much appreciated

    Thanks & Best Regards

  2. #2
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,739
    Hi Tek Hong

    Desktop pcs do not have GPS sensors.

    The best you can do is estimate the location based on the IP address.

    Google these words:
    geolocation from ip address api

    Note however that any PC that is allocated its IP address using DHCP will have a local address. The external IP will be the same for all clients that obtain an IP address dynamically from a DHCP enabled router or wireless access point.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1,208
    Tek,

    Just and FYI.

    For mobile devices, have a look at Lianja.getCurrentPosition()

    Herb

  4. #4
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,739
    Hi Herb,

    thats effective in Web Apps also.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  5. #5
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Croatia, Zagreb
    Posts
    1,099
    Hi Tekhong,

    Take a look at this post and maybe contact this guy to see how far he gets with his GPS issue:

    http://www.lianja.com/community/show...ules-in-Lianja

  6. #6
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berea, KY, USA
    Posts
    1,934
    Note that a Microsoft Surface Pro has a GPS built in; whether it is accessible from Windows desktop is another matter, but worth investigating.

    Hank

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    351
    Thanks everyone for your feedback.

    I will check these out

    Thanks & Best regards

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us