Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Instant Selections with Canvas

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    483

    Instant Selections with Canvas

    I'm currently trying canvas sections on a page as it allows me to layout controls exactly when I want them.

    When I was using the form section I added Instant Selections so that the user could filer the data in several ways.

    The page with a canvas on it does not support adding these. Is there any plan to have these work with Canvas sections?

  2. #2
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,677
    No they work against form sections.

    Using canvas sections you lose some of the built-in functionality.

    You will need to provide this functionality yourself through the section menu or the footer menu or a search panel.
    Last edited by barrymavin; 2018-11-05 at 18:24.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    483
    Thank you I'll take a look at those

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    483
    Hi Barry,

    The actual functionality seems to work with the canvas with instant selection.

    I have it working on a test form, see image below.

    I had a dummy page with a canvas section on it. Dropped a form section on it and dragged that to the top of the page.

    Added two instant search entries, Males Female.

    Deleted the form section and the canvas works with the instant selections which are to the left.

    As they are just filtering the data do you see any issues with this, other than it is not how Lianja is meant to do it?

    Name:  Canvas_with_instant Search.png
Views: 24
Size:  64.0 KB

  5. #5
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,677
    Hi David,

    You ask me what is supported. It is not supported on anything other than form sections.

    Hacking around may get something to work until there is a code change and it stops working.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  6. #6
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,677
    If you intend your app to run in the web be aware that canvas sections are not responsive as you are setting position and dimensions.

    Form sections are responsive and have matured quite a lot since you last used Lianja.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    483
    The only thing it does not do is put the little caption at the top of the page showing the filer that has been set. If I click on the Started it does show that, but not teh others, as it did in forms.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    483
    Hi Barry,

    Yes this is just a simple desktop app to get my current system over to Lianja and learn how to use it.

    I have seen overtime how the whole thing has matured and new cool features added almost weekly.

    I do intend to move over to a web system at some later date but for now the learning curve for desktop is enough for me

  9. #9
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    5,677
    Hi David,

    Thats because it is not supported for anything other than form sections.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Dubai, United Arab Emirates
    Posts
    483
    Hi Barry,

    I realise that it's not supported.

    Since the Stared item adds the caption and the functionality itself actually filters the record on the canvas is there a technical reason it's not supported for Canvas, just interested ?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us