PDA

View Full Version : Open database shared



phabio
2014-02-19, 10:06
To manage certain features, I created a database (named SRV) with a set of tables to contain information about the fields.

This database is "transversal" to the app that I intend to create.

These tables are read by any application (containing information on how to display fields).

During development, I have to maintain these tables, so I have to keep open an instance of the App Center on this database.
but if I hold open the app center on this database, I can not use the tables from the other App.

How can I do?

thanks
Fabio

yvonne.milne
2014-02-19, 10:48
Hi Fabio,

I may have misunderstood the question, but you need to deploy all the data required by your App along with the App itself and any library files.

Regards,

Yvonne

HankFay
2014-02-19, 11:39
Hi Phabio,

is this the app database, or an ancillary, metdata database. If it is the latter, you can access it from your app using the database!table syntax to create local cursors, which can then be used by your app.

select * from srv!mytable into cursor mymetadatacursor

That will not close the app's database, and will not leave open the srv database.

hth,

Hank

phabio
2014-02-20, 03:39
as usual my english is not very understandable .. :-)
I try with some pictures ..

I created the DB srv with some metadata to extend the property of the table field.
In this tables I have included information such as references, fields to display in searches, etc..
520

In the end application, specifying into the "Custom attributes" the name of the "Extended data type" command "dd_setFieldProperty (this)" in the "Load delegated," writes the delegate "Choices", "Get data mapping" and "Set date mapping ", reading the data on the DB" SRV "
521

To obtain this, without coding..
522

In this way, in any field I use this "Extended data type", I've the same behavior.

All work fine..

Now, the problem is:
when I design a new page, I need to do maintenance to the same DB tables "SRV", to add "Extended data type" or to change some properties ..
This is not possible, if I open the application "SRV", the DB is opened exclusively and when I try the page dell'aplicazione .. goes wrong.



gio 20. feb 10:39:02 2014
**** Lianja error ****
(m_table)

^
Invalid work area specified
Called from procedure - q_selecttable at line 16
Called from program - dd_procinit.dbo at line 3
Called from program - sem_parametri_contabili_load.dbo at line 7

gio 20. feb 10:39:02 2014
**** Lianja error ****
(m_table)

^
Invalid work area specified
Called from procedure - q_selecttable at line 16
Called from procedure - q_findfieldsetup at line 210
Called from procedure - dd_setfieldproperty at line 14

gio 20. feb 10:39:02 2014
**** Lianja error ****
(m_table)

^
Invalid work area specified
Called from procedure - q_selecttable at line 16
Called from procedure - q_findfieldsetup at line 210
Called from procedure - dd_setfieldproperty at line 14

gio 20. feb 10:39:06 2014
**** Lianja error ****
keylookup("srv_enumerated_dd", "enumStore", "COD_CAUCONT" + "|" + "00", display)
^
Syntax error in command

gio 20. feb 10:39:06 2014
**** Lianja error ****
keylookup("srv_enumerated_dd", "enumStore", "REGISTRO_CAUCONT" + "|" + "0", display)
^
Syntax error in command

gio 20. feb 10:39:06 2014
**** Lianja error ****
keylookup("srv_enumerated_dd", "enumStore", "COD_CAUCONT" + "|" + "00", display)
^
Syntax error in command

gio 20. feb 10:39:06 2014
**** Lianja error ****
keylookup("srv_enumerated_dd", "enumStore", "REGISTRO_CAUCONT" + "|" + "0", display)
^
Syntax error in command

gio 20. feb 10:39:06 2014
**** Lianja error ****
keylookup("srv_enumerated_dd", "enumStore", "COD_CAUCONT" + "|" + "00", display)
^
Syntax error in command

gio 20. feb 10:39:06 2014
**** Lianja error ****
keylookup("srv_enumerated_dd", "enumStore", "REGISTRO_CAUCONT" + "|" + "0", display)
^
Syntax error in command

yvonne.milne
2014-02-20, 07:12
Hi Fabio,

Are you trying to run 2 App Builder sessions using different Apps but the same database? Is that what you mean?

Regards,

Yvonne

phabio
2014-02-20, 07:52
Hi Yvonne,
there are:
App Dev with DB Dev for the metedata (Extended Data Type)
App AccountParameter with DB Data
App Account with DB Data
App Item with DB Data

I've opened the AccountParameter App, where i need to use some tables from the DB Dev to retrive metadata for Extended Data Type

At the same time, I need to keep open the App Dev to modify the metadata during the development..

yvonne.milne
2014-02-20, 08:24
Hi Fabio,

So, you are using the Dev database in the App Builder for development and your AccountParameter App is running in the App Center using the deployed databases, no?

Regards,

Yvonne

phabio
2014-02-20, 09:35
Hi Yvonne,
No, I need, both the Application opened in App Builder..

the database location must be the same...

I've try to open Dev App into the application center, but the database location are not the same..

barrymavin
2014-02-20, 10:18
As explained on numerous occasions. You cannot do that. You have a development folder structure which is used by the app builder and a deployment folder structure which is used by runtime ((App Center).

you can't go about altering table structures and editing code while runtime users are accessing these resources shared. It does not make logical sense.

phabio
2014-02-20, 10:44
Hi Barry,
With VFP I could ...

in the application center, I can change the path of the database, and point it to the folder of the DB of the application builder?

thanks

barrymavin
2014-02-20, 11:11
No you can't open tables shared and exclusive at the same time in VFP. You are wrong about that.

i have already explained. I will do it one last time.

The App Builder is for developing and testing. You deploy to the deployment directory which is used for desktop runtime users, Lianja SQL Server users and Lianja Cloud Server users (web and mobile apps).

That's how it works.

phabio
2014-02-21, 02:19
No you can't open tables shared and exclusive at the same time in VFP. You are wrong about that.



This is partly true .. but I want to open a DB change, in my case the DB Dev I just want to change the records .. not the structure, and in VFP is possible.


If with Lianja I can not, I'll think what to do.

ciao
Fabio