PDA

View Full Version : Setting up a default support user



avianmanagement
2013-02-26, 06:11
Can we programmatically add users to the system rather than having to use the user workspace ?

The reason I ask is that in my vfp apps i automatically add a user named support and a password that I know.

That way if I have to remote into a clients system I can always log in.

The sttartup code checks for thsi user and if it is not there the code adds it, if the user has changed the support password the startup code puts it back to what it was before.

This is very useful for support staff.

barrymavin
2013-02-26, 06:15
Can we programmatically add users to the system rather than having to use the user workspace ?

The reason I ask is that in my vfp apps i automatically add a user named support and a password that I know.

That way if I have to remote into a clients system I can always log in.

The sttartup code checks for thsi user and if it is not there the code adds it, if the user has changed the support password the startup code puts it back to what it was before.

This is very useful for support staff.

Yes of course. The table is system!sysroles.

The password uses the built-in md5() function to encrypt it.

In Lianja you can access tables across databases using the database!table notation.

avianmanagement
2013-02-26, 07:24
Brilliant, thank you