Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Sending email through gmail SSL

  1. #1
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berea, KY, USA
    Posts
    2,184

    Sending email through gmail SSL

    In reviewing the mail_open() function which creates the email object, I am not seeing the option to a) use SSL and b) set the port. Both are required to send email via gmail (without creating an SPF record and adding the sending ip to the Google Apps whitelist).

    Are there options I'm not seeing?

    thanks,

    Hank

  2. #2
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,147
    Blog Entries
    22
    When using linux as a server you can install ssmtp:

    http://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-...smarthost.html
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  3. #3
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,147
    Blog Entries
    22
    Alternatively configure sendmail with TLS support that will relay through google.

    http://www.linuxha.com/other/sendmail/gmail.html
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  4. #4
    Lianja MVP
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Berea, KY, USA
    Posts
    2,184
    Thanks: this one looks easiest.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    369
    Hi Guys

    Also having problems with sending mail. This is not SSL - it is a simple mail forwarding service that we have been using for ages (AuthSMTP.com) & they are really good (no silly limits).

    m_open = mailopen(lSMTPServer,lSMTPUser,lSMTPPass,"SMTP")
    m_mailOK = mailsend(fromname, tonames, ccnames, subject, msg, attachments)

    When we can call mailsend() but we get the following error :

    MAILERROR = '513 5.0.0 Your email system must authenticate before sending mail: XM_ERR:81.149'

    As with many providers, there is a second set of credentials required to authenticate the service - is there a place we can put those ?

    Thanks

    SpringBox

  6. #6
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,147
    Blog Entries
    22
    Where would you normally specify different credentials. This is SMTP which should only require username and password.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  7. #7
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,147
    Blog Entries
    22
    Does it require the password to be encrypted in some way? E.g MD5
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    369
    Hi Barry

    We agree - will send you the details by pm. Wonder if you can shed any light on it.

    Could it be ports? Valid non ssl ports for this SMTP forwarder are 23, 26, 2525, 25

    Thanks

    SpringBox
    Last edited by SpringBox; 2014-03-21 at 16:14.

  9. #9
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,147
    Blog Entries
    22
    You are not the first to have this problem apparently.

    The issue appears to be related to running x32 applications on x64.

    There is a discussion and solution to it here on stack overflow.
    http://stackoverflow.com/questions/2...ndows-7-64-bit
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

  10. #10
    Lianja Development Team barrymavin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    UK, USA, Thailand
    Posts
    7,147
    Blog Entries
    22
    There is a hotfix from Microsoft for this.
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/980681

    Please backup or try this in a VM first.
    Principal developer of Lianja, Recital and other products

    Follow me on:

    Twitter: http://twitter.com/lianjaInc
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/LianjaInc
    LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/barrymavin

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Journey into the Cloud
Join us